This is a record. They are 954 to be posted this year at the Tchaikovsky competition, one of the appointments the most important of the classical music, held every four years. 231 of them were selected to compete in the 17 to 29 June this Sixteenth edition in Moscow and Saint-Petersburg. Follow on Le Figaro , in partnership with the legendary competition. Appointments Monday June 17th at 18h for the broadcast of the opening ceremony.

” READ ALSO – Orchestras: the american musicians in the turmoil

Pianists, violinists, cellists, singers, and – characteristic of this year, players of wind instruments, and brass will appeal to discerning juries. Freddy Kempf, Menahem Pressler, Nelson Freire and Denis Matsuev sacreront the great pianists of tomorrow. The director of opera Eva Wagner-Pasquier and Ferruccio Furlanetto, a singer, a low Italian, have joined the jury of the vocal competition and Mischa Maisky, the cello.

” Follow it live below, beginning on 17 June, the entirety of the competition in the Piano category. And experience the international Competition Tchaikovsky in full on

the official Partner of the Tchaikovsky competition for the second time, the streaming platform is the world leader in classical music in video.

Alexandre Kantorow, a promise to France?

The last edition was marked by the revelation of the French pianist Lucas Debargue. He had arrived only in the fourth position, supported by Boris Berezovsky and Valery Gergiev, chairman of the organizing committee of the contest. This year, the only French pianist fray, Alexandre Kantorow should proudly wear the colors of the Hexagon. His musical maturity the admiration. At 21 years of age, he can boast to have graced the scenes of the Concertgebouw Amsterdam, the Philharmonie de Paris and the Berlin Konzerthaus.

the rest of The French contingent is distributed between the hautboïstes Armand Gift Djikoloum and Gabriel Pidoux, the bassoonist Lola Descours (solo from the opera of Frankfurt), Marceau Lefèvre (principal of the Philharmonic orchestra of Brussels), the trumpeters Arthur Escriva, Florent Farnier, Lucas Lipari-Mayer (solo, Ensemble intercontemporain), the horn player Felix Dervaux (solo of the orchestra of the Concertgebouw of Amsterdam until 2016), the trombonist (Benedict Dehaine, Guilhem Kusnierek) and the tuba player Florian Wielgosik (1st prize in the contest Jeju 2018). On the other hand, not competitors French for violin, cello and voice categories dominated by Russia and South Korea.

A grand prize awarded of up to € 100,000

In each discipline, the prize awarded, the first to the sixth to the instruments, from the first to the fourth for the voice, with a reward of $ 30,000 to $ 2000. They also have a grand prize awarded to an artist, any class confused, especially exceptional. The grand prize winner will walk away with 100,000 euros. This was the case, in 2015, the baritone Mongolian Ariunbaatar Ganbaatar. But there is no requirement that the jury awarded a grand prize, and three first prizes. A new award for the voice is established this year, in memory of Dmitri Hvorostovsky, baritone Russian disappeared in 2017.

“the One who wins the Tchaikovsky international is destined to be the world’s highest level,” repeats the envi its respected president Valery Gergiev. It is evidenced by the meteoric career of Daniil Trifonov, winner in 2011, became one of the pianists most in view. Among the big names the competition winners include pianists Van Cliburn, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Grigory Sokolov, Mikhail Pletnev and Boris Berezovsky and the violinists Gidon Kremer and Viktoria Mullova.